If you live in Texas and you wish to obtain your Texas License to Carry, you are likely to come across a lot of online courses. How do you know which one to take? There is still a lot of confusion and frankly misleading information. Here’s are some things to look for.
- The words “Texas License to Carry” – Texas NO LONGER calls it’s license a CHL or Concealed Handgun License. If you see CHL or Concealed Handgun License you ARE NOT enrolled in a course which offers the Texas License to Carry. Don’t purchase.
- The words “at least 4 – 6 hours” – The Texas License to Carry Course requires 4-6 hours of online instruction. If you see any other requirement of time you ARE NOT enrolled in a course which offers the Texas License to Carry. Don’t purchase.
- The words “Answer these few questions to see if you are eligible for your Texas License to Carry.” THERE IS NO ONLINE TEXAS LICENSE TO CARRY COURSE WHICH ASKS YOU TO ANSWER PRE-QUALIFYING QUESTIONS. Don’t purchase.
- The words “certificate or online certificate” – The Texas License to Carry online courses DO NOT issue certificates. Once you complete the course and pass the test you receive your LTC 101 Form. It is an official state form. If you do not see LTC 101 form, you are NOT enrolled in a course which offers the Texas License to Carry. Do not purchase.
- The words “No shooting requirement” – In order to obtain your Texas License to Carry YOU MUST pass a shooting proficiency after completing the online course. (veterans w/ less than 10 yrs. separated from service, law enforcement, corrections officers are exempt, See dps.texas.gov for a complete list of exemptions).
- The words “Universal Carry Permit” – NO SUCH THING! Please, please, please do not purchase!
- The words “Certified by the Texas Department of Public Safety. It meets the requirements for and replaces the required in person classroom portion of the course. Your instructor is certified under Texas GC 411.188 and GC 411.190 to administer the License to Carry Online Course (classroom instruction only).” All Texas License to Carry Courses which have been approved by the Texas Dept. of Public Safety should have these EXACT words on their website. If not, do not purchase.
- The words “25 question test” – The State of Texas requires you as the student / customer to take and pass a 25 question multiple choice & true / false test as part of the online course. If you see a course which does not offer a test or offers anything other than a 25 question test, you ARE NOT enrolled in a course which offers the Texas License to Carry. Don’t purchase.
- TO ENSURE YOU ARE ON A LEGITIMATE Texas License to Carry online course website with a DPS Certified online instructor please visit the link below for a list compiled by The Texas Department of Public Safety: https://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/LicenseRegistration/ocpCertifiedOptInList.pdf